Writing To Further Animal Welfare

Soaring Free

Soaring free in clear blue sky

We love to live we love to fly

In formation one behind the other

Mother, father, sister, brother

We see the lake we dip our wings

The long descent to supper begins

We call out now to all around

A happy joyous raucous sound

The final turn nearly there

After days of living in the air

Rest at last eat and drink

Fold our wings that’s what we think

A puff of smoke and then another

I look behind and see my brother

Lurch left and fall his wing blood red

His eyes fear filled within his head

We watch him fall and shout out loud

Break left break right don’t be a crowd

Don’t give them chance to end our days

But pellets streak through the smoke haze

They hit us hard rip flesh smash bone

Our joyous shouts turned scream and groan

I try to turn and climb escape

But it’s too late it’s not my fate

I feel the pellets enter, rip

My climb falters I start to dip

My heart pumps crazily fuelled with fright

but with damaged wings there is no flight

Please spare me this don’t let me die

I want to stay up in the sky

Don’t want my family blown away

Don’t want our lives to end this way

But it’s no good the guns keep on

Our lives are stolen one by one

Our blood flies with us in the sky

I try to shout a last goodbye

The ground where we should catch our breath

Is now only a place of death

We head there now all broken things

lifeless souls with bloodied wings.

Paul Svendsen

January 2013 ©

Comments on: "Soaring Free" (7)

  1. Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh……wow. That’s all I can say. I cry . . . and when I’m done, I will reblog and share. You have such a gift of influencing empathy. Your words cause us to stand in the place of the living being that feels. We feel with him. Thank you so much for lending voice to innocent, sentient, living beings who cannot speak for themselves. Thank you for the amazing difference you make. MANY blessings! ~Gerean Pflug for The Animal Spirits

    Reblogged and will post to our Facebook page at: http://www.facebook.com/TheAnimalSpirits

  2. Reblogged this on THE ANIMAL SPIRITS and commented:
    I cry . . . and then I reblog and share on my social networking platforms. Every individual action taken to lend voice to innocent, sentient, living being matters. Every living being matters. Please show compassion in action. ~Gerean Pflug for The Animal Spirits

    • Thanks so much for your words of encouragement it means a great deal, I only dabble at poetry but find it a very good medium to express how I feel about things that matter to me. Am having a bit of a welfare wobble at the moment, there just seems to be so much cruelty and so few who give a dam! Its like trying to blow a river up hill with a straw! Anyway I will give myself a good talking to and keep blowing. Thanks again… Paul

  3. The condition of the world that we once knew is grave. You are correct that there is so much cruelty. Yet, in thinking of the days/years of my lifetime passed and every new day I wake up, I come across many MORE who are kind rather than cruel. The difference comes in where we place our attention. If we place the bulk of our attention on the torturers, we begin to believe that they represent the bulk of the world. If we place the bulk of our attention on the rescuers and defenders, we begin to believe that they represent the bulk of the world. In reality, neither statement is true. They both exist, yet one is not illuminated by the other.

    Whenever the saddness takes me over from hours/days spent reading about horrific world events, viewing pictures of incompassionate acts of torture, abuse, neglect, torture . . . watching human beings become increasingly apathetic . . . I begin agonizing over these. I hafta move away from it. I exercise a shift to focusing on those who empathize, rescue, feed and lift up. It is a constant balancing act that we must practice until our last breath. The world needs us until our spirits move on to the ‘nother places . . . and even then, although we change form, we are not gone (I believe). Do “keep blowing.” 🙂

    Many Blessings! ~Gerean

  4. Quick correction of statement above: In relation to those who are cruel and those who are kind . . . I meant to say that “one is NOT illuminated without the other.” What a difference a word makes, huh? ~Gerean

  5. Re-posted again today to our Facebook page at: http://www.facebook.com/TheAnimalSpirits

    Blessings!

    ~Gerean

  6. Thank you Gerean, Moving house at moment so no time to write:(

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

