Writing To Further Animal Welfare

Sometimes you can express your feelings about life more easily with a poem or rhyme.

IF ANIMALS COULD TALK

If we asked calves with no room to move
To tell us how they feel
Do you think that they would say
Can’t wait to be your veal

If questioned would a foie gras goose
Retort, I don’t know why
You have to force my food in
So much until I die

Or put this questions to a sheep
Are you really such a glutton
Would he reply, it’s not for me
I’m just producing mutton

The chickens crowded in the shed
So crammed they have to fight
Would they say, get us out of here
We want to see the light

And standing in the farrowing crate
Would the sow be heard to say
If I could reach my piglets
I would take them far away

But animals can’t talk, can’t say a word
They don’t have any choices
And even if they could
Would we still ignore the voices?

Paul Svendsen

Comments on: "If Animals Could Talk" (5)

  1. Dawn Vincent said:

    What an emotive poem; animals do suffer so much and I’m glad they have protectors like you giving them a voice x

  2. I love this poem. I write stories in the form of prose at my blog. I am using my own unique writing style to raise public awareness for the need for raised levels of empathy and compassion of The Animal Spirits. Thanks for posting this, it is enlightening. ~Gerean Pflug, The Animal Spirits

    IN THE INTEREST OF FAIRNESS: http://animalspirits222.wordpress.com/2012/11/25/in-the-interest-of-fairness/

    • Thanks Gerean, have visited your site and think your work is great, sometimes you need to approach issues that challenge our actions in a way that appeals to the soul more than the mind and I think this can be achieved through poetry verse and stories, I was just trying it but you have a gift!

  3. As an observer, I do not see those who are indifferent responding to logic, nor do they have physical empathy, as many have never experienced abuses such as those inflicted on our animal spirits, so what is left to do . . . but appeal to their souls ? Thank you for taking the time to connect. Many Blessings!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

